Wyoming Book Awards

The Wyoming Library Association and the Wyoming State Literacy Association jointly sponsor three awards: the Buckaroo Book Award for children in grades K-3, the Indian Paintbrush Book Award for children in grades 4-6, and the Soaring Eagle Book Award for youth in grades 7-12. The purpose of these awards is to provide an opportunity for the youth of Wyoming to read and select favorite books and to honor the authors of those books.

WLA has a standing committee for each of the three awards. Each committee has four members appointed by the Wyoming State Literacy Association and four members appointed by the WLA president (two from the School Library/Media Personnel Interest Group and two from the Children's/YA Interest Group). All members serve three-year terms and there is one co-chair from each sponsoring group.

Interested in serving on a committee? Fill out this form! If you need additional information, contact Melissa Brumsted Snider.


Winners poster PDF PNG

Buckaroo Book Award (Grades K-3)
1st: Knight Owl by Christopher Denise
2nd: Rumple Buttercup by Matthew Gruber
3rd: Rescue & Jessica by Jessica Kensky & Patrick Downes

Indian Paintbrush Book Award (Grades 4-6)
1st: Odder by Katherine Applegate
2nd: Stay by
Bobbie Pyron
3rd: Ali Cross by James Patterson

Soaring Eagle Book Award (Grades 7-12)
1st: The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
2nd: You'd Be Home Now by Kathleen Glasgow
3rd: This Light Between Us by Andrew Fukuda


(800) 969-6562 

Wyoming Library Association

1190 Meramac Station Road, Suite 207

Ballwin MO 63021

© Wyoming Library Association

Wyoming Library Association is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software