# Wyoming Library Association (WLA) Awards/Grants Committee 2022 Annual Report

### **COMMITTEE MEMBERS**

Angela Wolff (Chair), 2020-2022, <a href="mailto:awolff@lclsonline.org">awolff@lclsonline.org</a>
Nicholle Gerharter, 2021-2023, <a href="mailto:ngerharter@parkcountylibrary.org">ngerharter@parkcountylibrary.org</a>
Libby Ngo, 2022-2024, <a href="mailto:libbyngo@caspercollege.edu">libbyngo@caspercollege.edu</a>
Travis Pollok, 2022-2024, <a href="mailto:travis.pollok@wyo.gov">travis.pollok@wyo.gov</a>
Chelsie Troutman, 2022-2024, <a href="mailto:ctroutman@natronacountylibrary.org">ctroutman@natronacountylibrary.org</a>
Alan Vaughn, 2022-2024, <a href="mailto:awaughn@sweetwaterlibraries.com">awaughn@sweetwaterlibraries.com</a>

## **ACTIVITIES AND ACCOMPLISHMENTS**

The committee met virtually throughout 2022, beginning in March after the recruitment of new members. The deadline for award nominations was August 1, 2022. The deadline for grant nominations was August 1, 2022. In August, both deadlines were extended to September 2, 2022. The committee met virtually to decide on winners, grant recipients and other nominations on September 7, 2022. Winners, nominators, and grant recipients were contacted the following week.

Nicholle Gerharter remained the committee's liaison to the Conference Planning Committee to help coordinate with the conference committee for the Awards Reception and presentations.

#### **CHANGES TO AWARDS**

The committee did not make any changes to the awards or to nomination criteria.

## **PLANS FOR THE FUTURE**

The committee discussed the possibility of reviewing the nomination process and format for next season.

## Awards/Grants

### Lifetime Achievement Award

This award recognizes the achievements and accomplishments of a library employee throughout their library career, including service to the public and/or library community. It is also meant to reflect the goals of the Wyoming Library Association and the library profession as a whole.

2022 WINNER: Richard Landreth (Lincoln County Library System)

## **Outstanding Hero/Heroine Award**

This award provides an opportunity for WLA to recognize an outstanding person or group whose hard work has made a difference to a Wyoming library within the last two years.

2022 WINNERS: Nancy Loomis and Jeff Geyer (Laramie County Library volunteers)

## **Outstanding Librarian Award**

This award recognizes the significant and outstanding accomplishments of a library employee in the past year, including service to the public and/or library community. It is also meant to reflect the goals of WLA and the library profession as a whole.

2022 WINNER: Paula Sabatka (Fremont County School District #2)

## **Outstanding Library Award**

This award recognizes a significant special project completed within the last two years. The staff, library board, community, or people served must all have been involved in the work for which recognition is sought.

2022 WINNER: Campbell County Public Library

## **Nora Van Burgh Grant**

This grant provides funding assistance to those who wish to enhance their effectiveness as library employees through additional educational experience.

2022 WINNERS: Melissa Haderlie (Star Valley Branch Library)
Katie Remme (Wright Branch Library)

Respectfully submitted by Angela Wolff on behalf of the WLA Awards/Grants Committee, September 18, 2022.