Wyoming Library Association Awards/Grants Committee Annual Report August 2018

Committee Members

Jeff Collins, 2017-2019 (Chair), jcollins@lclsonline.org Cynthia Hughes, 2016-2018, chughes5@uwyo.edu Jerry Jones, 2016-2018, jjones@natronacountylibrary.org Kennedy Penn-O'Toole, 2017-2019, kpennotoole@albanycountylibrary.org Janet Williams, 2016-2018, rdr.jaelwilliams@gmail.com

Activities and Accomplishments

The committee met during spring 2018 via teleconference. The deadline for all awards was June 15, 2018. All meeting agendas and notes are available on the committee's Google Drive site.

Changes to Awards

The committee made no changes to the awards this year.

Awards/Grants

OUTSTANDING HEROINE AWARD
 Jeanette Smith (Volunteer, Crook County Library Foundation)

This award provides an opportunity for WLA to recognize an outstanding person or group, whose hard work has made a difference to a Wyoming library within the last two years.

OUTSTANDING LIBRARIAN AWARD
 Janet Tharp (Youth Services Coordinator, Campbell County Public Library)

This award is meant to, above all, recognize and especially honor the significant and outstanding accomplishments set forth by a library employee in the past year, such as service to library patrons, and the library community that this individual is a part of. It is also meant to reflect the goals of WLA and the library professional, as a whole.

 OUTSTANDING LIBRARY AWARD Natrona County Library

For a significant special project completed within the last 2 years. The staff, library board and the community or people served shall all be involved in the work for which recognition is sought.

NORA VAN BURG DEVELOPMENT GRANT
 Jennifer Beckstead (Teen Librarian, Natrona County Public Library)

Funding assistance to those who wish to enhance their effectiveness as library employees through additional educational experience.

Respectfully submitted by Jeff Collins, July 24, 2018.