Awards Committee Report for 2016 12/16/2016

With the other changes to WLA this year, the Awards Committee also made changes. Based on a telephone call with Sid Stanfill, we decided to create three Awards. In the past it has been very difficult to get nominations for the ten awards offered. This year we had three awards; Outstanding Library, Outstanding Librarian, and Outstanding Heroine/Hero.

Another concern was that many library directors felt pressure to nominate libraries/staff for awards. The committee made sure that all members of WLA had the opportunity to nominate. The on line submission form was easy to complete and up to three one-page letters of support were requested.

The committee met via conference calls, emails and Memberclicks. As a committee we rewrote the Awards and criteria.

We had four nominations plus one for the Nora Van Burh Development Grant. Sid was able to present the awards (in person) during the Virtual WLA Conference. He presented Jennifer Rife the Outstanding Heroine Award in Cheyenne. He then drove to Gillette to present Judy Armstrong with the Outstanding Librarian Award.

I was awarded the Nora Van Burgh Development Grant to attend the MPLA/CAL Conference.

I want to thank the Committee members for their work on this project. The 2016 members were Anna Veinbergs, Ellen Newell, Jacque Strike and Sharon Mikesell. Thanks to Laura Grott, Megan Herold and Rebecca Jones for their help.

Submitted by

Michelle Havenga