Article Index
Buckaroo Award Books
Buckaroo Book Award Committee & Information
All Pages

 Buckaroo Book Awards

Sponsored by the Wyoming Library Association and the Wyoming State Reading Council, the Buckaroo Book Award will provide the opportunity for Wyoming children in grades K-3 to select favorite books they have read or have listened to and to honor the authors of these books. Its purpose is to help Wyoming students in grades K-3:

  • Become acquainted with the best contemporary authors.
  • Become aware of the qualities of good books.
  • Accustom younger children to concepts of choice, critical reading, and voting procedures which will help them participate in choosing other book awards.
  • To honor an author whose book has been enjoyed by Wyoming children.


Buckaroo Book Award Links

WLA Book Awards Main Page - includes voting and nomination information and forms.
Past Winners & Nominees by Author or Date (requires the free Adobe Acrobat Reader)

2017-2018 Buckaroo Award Winners

Winner1st Runner-up2nd Runner-up

Patrick McDonnell:
A Perfectly Messed-Up Story

Maria Gianferrarie: 
Coyote Moon

Shannon Hale & Dean Hale:
The Princess in Black 


2018-2019 Buckaroo Award Nominees

Mara Rockliff:
Anything but Ordinary Addie
Ryan Higgins:
Be Quiet
Jessica Olien:
The Blobfish Book 
book cover image of anything but ordinary addie cover image of be quiet book cover image of the blobfish book
Corinna Lyuken:
The Book of Mistakes
Drew Daywalt:
The Legend of Rock, Paper, Scissors

Jennifer Hamburg:
Monkey and Duck Quack Up

book cover image of the book of mistakes  cover image of the legend of rock, paper, scissors  cover image of monkey and duck quack up 
Ben Clanton:
Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea 

Victoria Turnbull:

Kate Beaton:
The Princess and the Pony

cover image of narwhal: unicorn of the sea  cover image of pandora  cover image of the princess and the pony 

Mac Marnett:
The Wolf, the Duck, and the Mouse



cover image of the wolf, duck and mouse