Article Index
Indian Paintbrush Award Books
Indian Paintbrush Book Award Committee & Information
All Pages

Indian Paintbrush Book Award Lists

Sponsored by the Wyoming Library Association and the Wyoming State Reading Council, the Soaring Eagle Book Award will provide the opportunity for Wyoming youth in grades 7-12 to select a favorite book and honor its author.

Its purpose is to help Wyoming students in grades 4-7:

  • Become acquainted with the best contemporary authors
  • Become aware of the qualities that make a good book
  • Choose the best rather than the mediocre
  • Set a goal to read at least three good books
  • To honor an author whose books Wyoming students have enjoyed.

Indian Paintbrush Book Award Links

Indian Paintbrush 2017-2018 Packet
2018 Indian Paintbrush Labels - Indian Paintbrush Nominee Checklist
WLA Book Awards Main Page - includes voting and nomination information and forms.

Past Winners & Nominees by Author or Date (requires the free Adobe Acrobat Reader)

2016-2017 Indian Paintbrush Award Winners

Winner1st Runner-up2nd Runner-up

Jennifer A. Nielsen:
A Night Divided 

Cece Bell:
El Deafo

Iain Lawrence:
The Skeleton Tree


2017-2018 Indian Paintbrush Award Nominees

 Cassie Beasley:
Circus Mirandus
 Kwame Alexander:
The Crossover 
 Chris Grabenstein:
Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library 
 Lisa Lewis Tyre:
Last in a Long Line of Rebels 
Old Wolf 
Sara Pennypacker Raymie: 
Kate DiCamillo:
Victoria Jamieson:
Roller Girl  
 Nancy Turner Steveson:
Swing Sideways 
Barbara O'Conner: