Article Index
Buckaroo Award Books
Buckaroo Book Award Committee & Information
All Pages

 Buckaroo Book Awards

Sponsored by the Wyoming Library Association and the Wyoming State Reading Council, the Buckaroo Book Award will provide the opportunity for Wyoming children in grades K-3 to select favorite books they have read or have listened to and to honor the authors of these books. Its purpose is to help Wyoming students in grades K-3:

  • Become acquainted with the best contemporary authors.
  • Become aware of the qualities of good books.
  • Accustom younger children to concepts of choice, critical reading, and voting procedures which will help them participate in choosing other book awards.
  • To honor an author whose book has been enjoyed by Wyoming children.

Buckaroo Book Award Links

WLA Book Awards Main Page - includes voting and nomination information and forms.
Past Winners & Nominees by Author or Date (requires the free Adobe Acrobat Reader)

2016-2017 Buckaroo Award Winners

Winner1st Runner-up2nd Runner-up

Michelle Robinson:
There’s a Lion in My Cornflakes 

Kes Gray: 
Frog on a Log? 

Anne Vittur Kennedy:
Ragweed’s Farm Dog Handbook 


2017-2018 Buckaroo Award Nominees

David Litchfield:
The Bear and the Piano 
Maria Gianferrari:
Coyote Moon 
Kelly DiPucchio:
Dragon Was Terrible 
Adam Lehrhaupt:
I Will Not Eat You 
Trudy Ludwig:
The Invisible Boy 

Minh Le:
Let Me Finish!

Ben Hatke:
Nobody Likes a Goblin 

Patrick McDonnell:
 A Perfectly Messed-Up Story

Shannon Hale:
 The Princess in Black 


Robert Burleigh:
Trapped! A Whale’s Rescue