Article Index
WLA Awards History
Andy Fisher Technology Award
Georgia Shovlain
Milstead Award
Nora Van Burgh Professional Development Grant
Distinguished Service Award
Librarian of the Year
Outstanding Librarian
SIRS/WLA Intellectual Freedom Award
Meritorious Service Award
Unsung Hero/Heroine
Trustee/Volunteer Award
Media Support Award
Newbie Award
All Pages

WLA Awards History

This history of awards attempts to provide the membership with the names of the awards and the recipients to provide some enduring record of those librarians, trustees and volunteers who made important contributions to the state's library community. The variety of awards presented to Wyoming librarians and libraries often changed in name and purpose prior to 1980 but have been fairly consistent since that year. The researcher for this project has attempted to provide a complete history for the Fisher, Shovlain and Milstead awards, and as comprehensive a list of other award winners with WLA sources available. To all those recognized over the years and to all those who have worked in Wyoming libraries we collectively say "You are all winners."

Future award committees are encouraged to be sure that this database is updated annually.

Jerry Krois, Wyoming State Library - Researcher
October, 2002